With the title all but won and Champions League football definitely secured it is probably safe to start speculating based on the new UEFA seeding rules. Unlike previous seasons, Champions League seeding will be based on home league performance rather than the coefficient system. The structure is such that league winners from the Top 7 European Leagues alongside the Champions League Winners will be the top seeds for the group stages. Below is a list of potentially dangerous teams our beloved Blues may face.


  • FC Barcelona
  • Atletico Madrid
  • Real Madrid


  • Wolfsburg
  • Bayer Leverkusen
  • Borussia Monchengladbach


  • Lazio
  • AS Roma
  • Napoli


  • Benfica,
  • Sporting Lisbon,
  • FC Porto.


  • Zenit St Petersburg
  • Krasnoda
  • CSKA Moscow


  • PSV
  • Ajax


  • PSG
  • Lyon
  • AS Monaco
  • Marseille

The list of La Liga teams may change depending on who wins the League and Champions so as the list of Portuguese and French teams. The worst case scenario would be the failure of a La Liga team to win the Champions League as that would mean that either of the other two would be in Chelsea’s group.

Ultimately, it is probably the other English teams who have more to worry about as their frailties will be open to examination by Europe’s best League performers for the 2014/15 season.

Contribution from Kudzai Mahwite

Facebook Comments