Chelsea’s academy are no strangers to travelling around the world to take part in wide-ranging youth competitions, something which helps each player grow and develop. In recent years they’ve been to the United States, Malaysia, Holland, Germany, Austria and others. This November, they’ll add World Cup hosts South Africa to that list as they take part in the Cape Town Peace Cup.

As revealed today, the competition will feature eight teams – four from the host nation, and four from around the world. Domestic sides Orlando Pirates, Santos, Ajax Cape Town and SuperSport United will be joined by Boca Juniors, Stabaek IF and Eintracht Frankfurt, as well as the Blues. The teams will be split into two groups of four, with each team playing eachother once. The draw is below:

Ajax Cape Town
Stabaek IF
Boca Juniors

SuperSport United
Orland Pirates
Eintracht Frankfurt

It’s an Under-19 competition, which means Chelsea are likely to take a mix of youth and reserve team players, but with the New Year Disney Soccer Showcase trip to the United States for the Under-17s presumably on the agenda, an older squad could be taken.

The competition gets underway on November 26th and updates will be provided throughout on CFCnet and on Twitter @chelseayouth.

Facebook Comments